Skip to main content

Systematic review: About Systematic Reviews

About Systematic Reviews

PRISMA Statement

PRISMA is an evidence-based minimum set of items for reporting in systematic reviews and meta-analyses. PRISMA focuses on the reporting of reviews evaluating randomized trials, but can also be used as a basis for reporting systematic reviews of other types of research, particularly evaluations of interventions.

Cochrane

Cochrane is an independent, non-profit, non-governmental organization. The group was formed to organize medical research information in a systematic way to facilitate the choices that health professionals, patients, policy makers and others face in health interventions according to the principles of evidence-based medicine.

SBU - Swedish Agency for Health Technology Assessment and Assessment of Social Services

SBU is an independent national authority, tasked by the government with assessing health care interventions from a broad perspective, covering medical, economic, ethical and social aspects. SBU is one of the oldest HTA (Health Technology Assessment) organisations in the world.

More

The Campbell Collaboration is an international research network that produces systematic reviews of the effects of social interventions in Crime & Justice, Education, International Development, and Social Welfare.

PROSPERO is an international database of prospectively registered systematic reviews in health and social care, welfare, public health, education, crime, justice, and international development, where there is a health related outcome. Key features from the review protocol are recorded and maintained as a permanent record. PROSPERO aims to provide a comprehensive listing of systematic reviews registered at inception to help avoid duplication and reduce opportunity for reporting bias by enabling comparison completed review with what was planned in the protocol. Procuced by CRD.

 

Handbooks

Cochrane Handbook for Systematic Reviews of Interventions

The Cochrane Handbook for Systematic Reviews of Interventions (the Handbook) provides guidance for the preparation of Cochrane Intervention reviews (including Cochrane Overviews of reviews).

Systematic Reviews

Centre for Reviews and dissemination (CRD)' guidance for undertaking reviews in health care.

SBU handbook

The Swedish handbook will eventually be translated into English and published on the website. In English you can access the chapter about Evaluation and synthesis of studies using qualitative methods of analysis.

Sage Research Methods

Sage Research Methods focuses on methodology rather than disciplines, it can be used across the social sciences, health sciences, and more.